likethebeer: (Default)
[personal profile] likethebeer
Mda went out shopping. Poor guy's making his own b-day dinner.... I don't know what happened to my cooking sense. As soon as we moved in together, any desire I'd once had for cooking seemed to completely vanish. At least he really likes it.

Yesterday was his b-day, and I have to say that WI-C saved our collective butts. I came home from work at 6:20 with a wrung-out brain. Here it is, his birthday, and I have almost nothing to contribute to his day. Although, truth be told, he hadn't been specific on what he wanted to do last night. Maybe I should have bugged him some more. Anyway, mda was making pumpkin pie when I came home, then revealed that he'd received a call from WI-C, who is currently untethered from spouse and child (they're at jujupees' sister's place for the weekend). We went to the local bar and stayed 'til midnight. ALong the way, others came. Strange b/c I hadn't been to the Shed in a long time, but I had just happened to stop by the night before to hang out w/Tom G., Flinty Jim, and 2 others. One of whom WI-C calls the squirrel, and I did get caught in one of her squirrel conversations.

Basically, they go like this: she starts to get drunker and drunker, then you'll suddenly find yourself in a "conversation" with her for about 45 minutes in which you can't get a word in edgewise, and she just repeats herself over and over again. Mda does that too, sometimes (I hope not more often than I think). The next time this happens, and those two are at the same party, we should just put them in a room together so they can duke it out.

Anyway, had some good conversations, and it was good to see everyone (well, not everyone as I would define it, b/c that means a few more couples, but mroe than usual anyway), including the "old broad." SHe's been enjoying the underwear posts (more on that in a moment).

WI-C seemed in the mood to talk to me, but I didn't have much to contribute. I did try to make a statement on Ayn Rand's writing abilities, but he had walked away by that time (he thought I looked angry, or maybe disapproving, but I think I was just screwing up my courage). I don't have much background in Rand, except for Anthem as a kid and a stab at Fountainhead, but if Fountainhead is an example of her writing ability, I am not impressed. Anyway, that's just to give you an idea.

As everyone made their way out, WI-C, who had bought 2 shots of Jaegermeister for mda (and the bartender gave him a free pint, and there were... 3 pints on top of that), told me to go home and make sweet, sweet love w/my bf on his birthday. Believe me, mda was in no condition to make sweet sweet anything. He did manage to make it upstairs all right, and was asleep by the time I got there (no snoring, fortunately).

As for the underwear, the old broad also lamented the lack of brand-spankin' new undies in her life lately, or actually the presence of their complete opposite. Myself, I went and collected my underwear from the drying rack today, and officially threw out 9 bras, some originating from my bra story, written 6 years ago. I will miss some but there was no question they had to go. Holes and elastic were sticking out all over the place. I think because I had bought these with mda, to get rid of them did not have the same power as the discardment of bras at 30. So my conclusion that I would throw these new bras out in time w/out a thought came true, but not for reasons that I understood (of course, I also wondered in the essay if I would be married and have children by the time these wore out. Obviously that is not the case, but that has been a subject for other posts, as anyone who has read this long enough knows by now).

Then I made purchase of yet more boy shorts, based on mda walking up to me this morning and saying, "When are you going to wear those again?" "As soon as I hand wash them." Got to that task w/in 15 minutes, then ordered more. I'm a slave to the boyshort. Actually, I'm a slave to the idea that after 6 1/2 years, my bf would actually like any special underwear I have. It's hard. This is a guy who doesn't like to be told what is sexy, so I don't have a paradigm to work with, here. I could walk around naked but I'll get cold. So if these things work on a regular basis, shit, I'd throw away all of my other "sexy" things and buy a whole parcel full. Anyway, that's my thoughts on the boyshorts for this week.

I must help mda clean the house.

Date: 2004-03-27 09:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seattleforge.livejournal.com
I obviously loved the post, but want to discuss something else.

I read your info, and it says you're not from the midwest, but think it fits you very well. I'm wondering why you think that is.

Date: 2004-03-27 11:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] likethebeer.livejournal.com
Where I live, I'm fortunate to have met some of the most fascinating people of my life. Not only people w/artistic sensibilities (in the real, workaday sense, not the "I'm an artiste and you're all idiots" sense--writers, painters, sculptors, and musicians), but who can talk philosophy, and joke around, and who I can watch Con Air (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0118880/) with and have great conversations afterward. Who will feed me good food when I'm poor (WI-C and [livejournal.com profile] jujupees most often), who give me encouragement (my friends N&M, and Marianne. M is MD, btw, who gave me the title of my post page, "How many pins can you stick in the head of an angel?"). When I go back to PA, where I grew up, I love my friends there, but we don't have those types of interactions. While they're sweet people, and I can get into great conversations with them, it's not the same. I think that they had a certain model of adulthood that they were given, and were never introduced to anything else. So, they have big houses, and many have big "grown-up" jobs, and buy minivans, and think the 1 guy we know, who bought a little house for $89k, is a kooky cheapskate.

Those are the particulars. Overall, I like the midwest because, well yes, most of the people are polite and have made me, I think, a nicer person. But they also seem to be more accepting of others. At least that I've seen. The people I've met out here will sometimes have these wonderful tastes, interests and abilities, but they don't shout them to the world, b/c they don't feel like they have something to prove. I feel like I can be myself out here, and that I don't have to prove anything to anyone. I don't have to explain myself all the time, or answer for the choices I've made. If they accept me, they do it wholeheartedly and if they don't, we just don't hang around each other.

Of course there are jerks, and small-minded people, and hicks, but I lived in a city (Boston) and saw the same thing. So I have no desire to go back there.
From: (Anonymous)
Man, I need me one of these lj thingamadoobies. I WAS in the mood to talk with you last night, but really I'm always in the mood to talk w/ you, so that's not saying much. I was innerested in your rand comments, but walked away because, after hiding my quarters all night long, vern finally decided it was my turn to play pool. That, and a monkey shit in my head.

Y'know, I need to come up with a more creative way of acknowledging birthdaze - plying people with alchohol is great and everything, but so much gets sacrificed in the process. Maybe I'll bake MDA some fuckin' cookies next year.

My brainpan hurts today. Struggle. Struggle. Struggle. Art show at the convent tonight. Movies tomorrow. Peace, love, hominy - WI-C
From: [identity profile] likethebeer.livejournal.com
Aw, gee, that's always so sweet that you would say such a thing, that you like talking to me. I knew you walked away to play pool, and that it wasn't a slam on me. Mda liked the special treatment. Overall, I think he had a great birthday, b/c he took Thursday and Friday off, and had spent most of his b-day lounging around, or hanging with the budgies.

BTW: You can have one of those LJ thangamadoobies. Jaaladay gave both you and jujupees an LJ-code to start your own journal. Of course, then, you'd be expected to produce!

Re: the title of your reply: I was wondering about the reference to strip clubs, myself. Mda told me that when you guys went to Brad's bachelor parties, he got talkin' to an old guy who was standing in an area where you couldn't see the stage. Mda was saying, "Why are you here?" The man replied, "Just wait." It was buy the door where the women came and went. "Nurse goes out... naked lady comes back. School girl goes out... naked lady comes back." That's what he liked. He doesn't like to have his buttons pushed, as he says. He doesn't like being told, "This is sexy, goddamit, now get turned on!"
From: (Anonymous)
Yeah, now that you mention it, DJ Snackwell told me about the conversation w/ the old guy. But to call it like I see it, why the hell did MDA go sit in a corner where you couldn't see the the stage and talk to an old guy in the first place? Now, I'm not callin' him a no-account sit-pisser or anything like that, I'm just saying that I think he discovered a convenient rationale for hiding at the strip club. And now it happens that it's also the way he can enjoy being at one. BTW, the term "gentlemen" was a term used loosely in the "Gentlemen's Club" we visited last night(after you took your no-account sit-pisser home to pass out. tee-hee.) WI-C
From: [identity profile] likethebeer.livejournal.com
Well, we were both disturbed by the original plan of a stripper in the room. On the other hand, he's the one who enjoyed the parade at the S/M show and I almost had to throw up.

oh yeah, and...

Date: 2004-03-28 12:35 am (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
I'm glad your guy had fun. It was great to see you both.

Re: oh yeah, and...

Date: 2004-03-28 12:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jaaladay.livejournal.com
Wah. I miss you guys and your childfree good times at the Shed. At least I can live vicariously through lj. ;)

Re: oh yeah, and...

Date: 2004-03-28 12:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] likethebeer.livejournal.com
It was a little scary when we first went in, but there was a point at which we were the only ones there, and WI-C was holding forth.

Profile

likethebeer: (Default)
likethebeer

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
22232425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:13 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios