likethebeer: (Default)
[personal profile] likethebeer
I've been wanting a nap since about noon & it's 10:30 (EDT). I'd like to get some things down before I forget them, tho.

Things have been really nice. Going to the Shore every day (which is about 3 big-ass houses away), eating good food at night. Hanging with the whole fam damily. The kids love mda, of course, like they usually do. The boy, M (2.5 years old), has been climbing onto mda's lap unsolicited. Mda told me he thinks it's the testosterone. Or, as I thought, "You are of my tribe. Must go to you." Got an absolutely frickin' adorable picture of mda walking w/the boy up the beach. The girl, Q (5.5 yo), has been sort of playing go fish w/mda, with him calling her a nerd (I told her to call him a "geek"). I say "sort of" because I've been around her about 1/2 dozen times when we've played go fish, and we have yet to actually play the game according to the rules (which Q has to tell us b/c we're too old to remember the rules).

We had the kids saying "gousa" (go-sa) today, which is "shit" in the Firefly universe. That was frickin' hysterical. mda told them it meant "dinosaur spit," but it was still so funny.

The girl also was talking to me the other day and came to the point where she decided that she can think of mda as her uncle, which he is, although not legally. Still, that was really cool. And she has been asking every day when we head toward the beach if mda is coming. Again, not that that's a surprise. But I'm just really happy to see him spending time w/them, because he is so good w/them.

Anyway, what else. Shit - I sat down to try to write things taht I remembered, just to get them down, and it all went out of my head.

Oh - today I got buried in the sand by the kids (and mda & my sis Moe), and then they made me a big, doughy sand body (complete w/boobies and nipples, thanks to my niece). Q & I have had great conversations about astronomy - how old's the earth, what made the oceans, what made the planets, is our planet ever going to be destroyed (that was a hard one for me to say "yes" to, but at least I didn't explain that the sun is going to turn into a red giant and completely incinerate the earth--I also emphasized that by that time, we'll have made spaceships that will take us to other planets - no dinosaurs there, though, which she asked about). Oh, and can I just say that it says something about our country that there are full-grown adults who don't know, like Q does, that dinosaurs and human beings did not exist at the same time.

The other day we went to teh top of a lighthouse (except for my mom and sister Moe), then mda wanted to see the lighthouse light. So we went in the car w/my mom and Q to the little museum, which is an old, one-room schoolhouse. The old man there (74 yo) starting talking to Q, and she started firing questions at him about all sorts of things in the room. It was great b/c I could tell that the guy just loved it (although, then the questions got faster and faster, and it was prolly too much for him). I finally had to get my mom to quell the situation. At those times, my lack of parenting skills totally come to the fore: I'm not good at distracting, or leading, or diverting attention. I just panic.

Oh, and the lighthouse light was so beautiful. It has like 1400 prisms. It's amazing - looks like a work of art.

Anyway, on the drive back in my mom's convertible, mda was in teh backseat w/Q and the next thing I know, they're talking like mission control to the astronauts. "Kchh - ah, mission control, this is mda in the backseat of the car. ETA to the house is 3 minutes. 3 minutes. Over. Kchh."

"Kchh - mda, this is Q. What's that thing over there?"

More space stuff - I put the kids into a big rubbermaid box and we pretended we were going to teh moon. So, Q got out and got some food for the astronauts. And it was soooooo cute - she was sharing the food w/her brother, and they were both laughing, and just having a good time together. Sure, he bit her less than 5 minutes later and she got really pissed, and some hitting started, but that's to be expected (although, really, it was her fault - he was chasing her and Q named the game "M eats Q", so of course he was going to bite her, but anyway).

That's about it. It's 11 and I vant to SLEEEEP!

Sorry if I don't reply for a few days - I've been avoiding the computer for the most part. Take care

Profile

likethebeer: (Default)
likethebeer

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
22232425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 08:44 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios