celebrity weddings
Jun. 26th, 2006 08:45 amI guess I'm happy for Nicole Kidman that she got married to that guy, but really, why is everyone suddenly obsessed? The only reason I know she got married is I started reading about it last week sometime--running across it on Google news. At first I saw a headline and I was like, "Oh? That's nice for her." But then there have been updates like every 6 hours it seems. I think I know that this was a small wedding, but there were lots of high profile names, and that I think they're going somewhere tropical for their honeymoon?
Her agent must be having orgasms over this media frenzy. I really have never thought Nicole Kidman was that huge of a star.
And, yeah, the fact that I know more, now, about Nicole Kidman's wedding than I knew ahead of time about the weddings of pretty much everyone I know is so obviously absurd as to be ridiculous to state, but I don't think I've brought up anything totally absured in awhile, so hey, what the hell. Although, I suppose, if I were in some Jane Austin novel I would know all about the wedding of one of the women in town even if I weren't going. sigh--I think I'd be the woman who ends up marrying the cleric she doesn't really love just so she can finally get married and have kids. Oh, man, I'm tragic.
Her agent must be having orgasms over this media frenzy. I really have never thought Nicole Kidman was that huge of a star.
And, yeah, the fact that I know more, now, about Nicole Kidman's wedding than I knew ahead of time about the weddings of pretty much everyone I know is so obviously absurd as to be ridiculous to state, but I don't think I've brought up anything totally absured in awhile, so hey, what the hell. Although, I suppose, if I were in some Jane Austin novel I would know all about the wedding of one of the women in town even if I weren't going. sigh--I think I'd be the woman who ends up marrying the cleric she doesn't really love just so she can finally get married and have kids. Oh, man, I'm tragic.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-26 02:44 pm (UTC)I think she rocks. Did you see her in The hours?
no subject
Date: 2006-06-26 02:55 pm (UTC)I like that she didn't have to get dispensation from Rome, on account they don't believe she was married before. After all, it was just a Scientology ceremony, and that's not recognized by the Church Catholic.
I don't see eye-to-eye with my Catholic brethren on many counts, but Dude! Smackdown! That rocked! *hee*
no subject
Date: 2006-06-26 03:34 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-26 10:07 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-27 01:45 am (UTC)I guess this is something they never wanted to bring up in all those religion classes I took 1-12th grade!
no subject
Date: 2006-06-27 03:39 pm (UTC)It's like the whole married priest or women as priest debate. I once got into an argument with my CCD teacher about whether or not women should be priests. I was in...4th grade. Yeah, feminist from the start, baby! :)