Jan. 6th, 2006

likethebeer: (Default)
No big freak out here, as far as I know....

We're going to a baby shower tomorrow. Ok, I had the option of buying cute duck-y things, but, hey, I think a lot of the people going to this are too old to remember what having a baby is like. So there might be a lot of the cute things, but not a lot of what they need. I mean, after watching my friends prepare for a baby, I decided to go totally on the necessities. I bought: 2 diaper covers; 10 cloth diapers; 1 set of "no pin diaper fasteners"; and, uh, baby wipe clothes. Everything is beige or white, but I think the parents will like it. This is what they _need_. They'll get cute things from everywhere, give 'em what they really need. Coz those hemp diapers are $7 a pop (which I did _not_ buy, even though I stuck one in the basket early on in the game).

It'll be fun to see the pregnant momma. She was at 5 months when I saw her last & she hardly showed. She's got to be big & preggers by now. I hope they get what they need.
likethebeer: (Default)
For your glory.

You have to read them backwards I'm afraid, starting w/Nanowrimo, then going numerically from Nanowrimo 2, on up (I assume you can count); w/the last one being "The end. The end. This is the end!! (unless you want..."

You could also just go to [livejournal.com profile] momswrite2, and go back a few pages to start reading the novel.

Looking at the momswrite2 community, I see I started posting the novel the first day I started writing: November 1st. So it took me 2 months to post it all. I'm sure that you were waiting eagerly, like those people on the docks in NYC asking the men on the ships, as they were shipping Charles Dickens' latest installment of, uh, Great Expectations, I think. "Is little Nell alive??"

Now I have to finish my notes to ghostwes, wrap presents for the baby shower tomorrow.... Then maybe I'll look at ghostwes' comments to me and maybe... look at my novel, itself.

Meanwhile, I'm listening to Sarah Vowell. I love this woman. She's smart & cute & smart & loves geeky stuff (and is alluring because of who she is) and if I were that kind of person, I'd stalk her.
likethebeer: (Default)
This is a question that came up between me & mda. I felt I had to ask mothers: do fetuses pee or poop in the womb?

mda believes that the umbelical cord filters out everything so that the fetus doesn't pee or poop, and that the fetus can't be expected to breathe in waste products.

My idea is that any human body will cast off waste products through digestion, no matter how much good stuff the body is receiving; and that perhaps the womb is filtering out these waste products.

Michael also throws in that perhaps the urination and defection process is what spurs on birth.

I also know that babies as they are being born can aspirate their own shit. So, what goes on? And what happens to the pee & poop?

Profile

likethebeer: (Default)
likethebeer

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
22232425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:53 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios