Money woes

Aug. 21st, 2004 10:56 am
likethebeer: (Default)
[personal profile] likethebeer
Oh, man. I just got my insurance adjusted bill for my shoe inserts, the orthotics I need so that I can walk around w/out my stupid foot arches causing me a lot of pain and bringing my whole body out of wack. The conversations I had w/the insurance company and the doc's office were, "you'll have to pay some, but it will be about $80-100." Try multiplying that by almost 3x. $257. Fuck. They only paid 1/3 of the amount.

And I've got car insurance due on Sept. 1. That's $165

And some crazy bill that we haven't figured out from the propane company. 2 bills, actually, after we'd signed up for the budget propane program. You estimate how much propane you'll need throughout the season (we picked 500 gallons). They give you a set price per gallon, then they bill you over 10 months. It's so you don't have to pay every time they come in the winter & fill up the tank, thus you don't receive $100+ bills in the middle of January. Well, we got these 2 statements saying we owe over $200 right now, and I don't understand it. Got to figure that out.

And I just bought a plane ticket to go to PA in October (more on that later). And I'm "expected" to buy a ticket to the LitFest ($45). I don't want to do it, frankly. I'll be perfectly happy working on the lunch for the festival, b/c normally $45 wouldn't be so bad, but I'm just not too psyched about this. I forgot to tell the Literary Board that the reason I've never gone to LitFest is that I could never swing the $$.

I added stuff up a few days ago, and just for me I owed over $800. Which is more than I earn in a paycheck (not per week, every 2 weeks). All the sudden I'm just feeling swamped. It'll go ok, I just hate it. I hate this sense of panic. It's times like these I wish I had a normal job. I keep trying to tell myself that it's better to do what I love than be in a job I hate, a place where I'll spend most of my waking hours. It just seems senseless to me. But then this stuff comes up.

Yes, I know I'm whining, I'm just trying to work through these emotions.

I keep thinking about one of the recent Strong Bad e-mails. Strong Bad is asked if he has ever made Homestarrunner cry. And he says, sure, he's got this little cartoon of a 1-legged dog named, "Li'l Brudder" that he shows to Homestarrunner, while saying, as Li'l Brudder, "Don't worry about me, I can make it on my own. I'm gonna be a quarterback one day." And Homestar collapses on the ground crying, asking this (crudely drawn) cartoon how to get the most out of life. Should he become a male model, or get into high finance? "He's got the heart of champion!" Homestar exclaims. Even The Cheat (this little yellow animal with brown spots that's sort of Strong Bad's pet) starts crying.

Ok, I understand that no one who hasn't seen Strong Bad understands this, but I think it's really funny. That Li'l Brudder. He can teach us all a thing or two.

See, now I'm feeling better. Thanks, Li'l Brudder!

Date: 2004-08-21 05:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] coconuthead.livejournal.com
Yeah, it's a bad money day for me, too. I just transferred a big, big hunk out of savings so I could pay for car insurance & pay special K back for this computer. I keep trying to save, but it never seems to add up to anything. Also, I can think I'm saving for months, but I never seem to get anywhere. Frustrating!

Date: 2004-08-21 05:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] likethebeer.livejournal.com
I've had to transfer $ from savings also, 2 x in the past week. And I want to put at least some into a CD. I'm trying to figure out if I can sell my stained glass to anyone, but I only have 5 pieces that I've not completely finished yet.

Date: 2004-08-21 07:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] coconuthead.livejournal.com
Hey, I'd buy some from you if I had money.

Dammit.

Date: 2004-08-21 08:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] likethebeer.livejournal.com
Well, I was afraid to put that in there, about the stained glass, for fear that you'd offer to buy it. Thanks, though. All the stained glass I have still won't pay the bills. And on that note, I'm getting ready to take a flute lesson. Talk about putting priorities in your life!

Date: 2004-08-21 10:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sacramentalist.livejournal.com
I fret about money all the time. Every dollar I spend feels like I've lost a battle. It's great you're taking flute lessons. You HAVE to do some things! You can't hole yourself up between paycheques. It's all about moderation. And patience. When I figure it out, I'll share what I've learned.

From: [identity profile] likethebeer.livejournal.com
Yeah, through it all, with all my $ fears, I've been taking flute. If I don't have lessons, I won't play, then I'll just lose what I've spent (3+) years working on.

I got back a while ago from this new teacher. He seems like he might be good (his interests, in terms of musical taste, are polar opposit from Tammy), he's only 15 minutes away (as opposed to an hour & 15), and he's $10 cheaper per hour. I told him he's selling himself short.

Profile

likethebeer: (Default)
likethebeer

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
22232425 26 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 01:34 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios