This reminds me of (extremely well off) Kevin, who literally didn't understand, no matter how much we told him, that a lot of people couldn't afford $500/month for insurance.
(in a heavy Boston accent) "Whaddya mean?"
"$500 a month is too much for a lot of people."
"No it's not."
"Yeah. It is."
"No it's not."
"Kevin, we're talking about people making like $10/hour, and just the rent is $400 a month, if they're lucky."
"Ya scaarin' me." (that as close to the accent as I can get)
(in a heavy Boston accent) "Whaddya mean?"
"$500 a month is too much for a lot of people."
"No it's not."
"Yeah. It is."
"No it's not."
"Kevin, we're talking about people making like $10/hour, and just the rent is $400 a month, if they're lucky."
"Ya scaarin' me." (that as close to the accent as I can get)
"Ya scaarin' me."
Date: 2004-07-30 02:01 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-07-30 02:04 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-07-30 02:07 pm (UTC)Some people are so out of the loop with the problems of the poor. I read about the problems with poverty at work every day, and I can't imagine why this isn't on the agenda of every politician in the country.
When I was a full-time grad student, I didn't really have insurance in year 2 because I was too old to be on my parents' insurance. Yeah...that definitely wasn't a good deal. And there's no way even now that I could afford $500 a month for insurance! I have to have a full-time job just to keep the health benefits coming in. The alternative sucks, quite frankly.
no subject
Date: 2004-07-30 06:08 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-07-30 02:15 pm (UTC)Or like in "Tale of Two Cities", where they force-feed grass to an aristocrat saying the poor should eat grass if they are so hungry.
no subject
Date: 2004-07-30 06:11 pm (UTC)